BeerCritic


Otter Creek Pale Ale
Otter Creek Pale Ale

Otter Creek Pale Ale

Style; glass: Pale ale;
12 fl oz x 4.6% ABV = 55.2 / 60 = .92 beers * 150 C = 138 calories (est.)
Purchased at: Canal’s Lawrenceville, NJ for $1.20

Aroma: hay, corn, grains, faint

Visuals: templated packaging. Body is bright, brilliant, and pale, staying white head, interesting lace.

Taste: starts with corn and barley, grassy, middle is water, a little chemical, finish is slightly metallic.

Palate: starts thin, middle rounds a bit in the mouth, quick drying effects towards the short slightly acetic finish.

Overall: Not bad for the price, better than your average macro, but I would seek out something else next time, myself.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I think this beer is great! I just picked it up at my local trader joes. Reminds me a lot of sierra Nevada pale ale. I say check it out 🙂

Comment by jessica Macdonald

WORD…

Comment by mike D

After having moved back to New England from Chicago (good beer town), I can tell you that I am grateful for the Otter Creek now that I’m here. I have very fond memories of draft Otter Creek at the Skunk Hollow Tavern in VT, and find the thin/acid qualities you describe to be most appropriate to a humid, hot New England summer, when cast in more appealing terms. For me, the beer matches perfectly with spicy seafood (I particularly like the Philipino-style paprika shrimp with it), and I would put it foremost alongside a chili-laden, “bright”-flavored Indian meal, but I’d drink it with any outdoor seafood grilling. Thanks for the great blog, and I hope you’ll give this beer a try again in conjunction with a meal tinged with hot chilis!

Comment by Blake




Leave a Reply

