BeerCritic


Newcastle Brown Ale
02/17/2009, 4:06 AM
Filed under: brown ale [bruin] (mug), Newcastle | Tags: , ,

ABV: 5.5%
Calories: estimated at 150 C
Volume: pint
Glass: shaker
Purchased at: Firkin Tavern, Ewing, NJ
Price: $5
Consumed at: Firkin Tavern, Ewing, NJ

Impression: Deep ruby body. Retains its head. Lacing is nice. Served too cold. Nicer after warming. Roasty. Thin. Wet finish. Foamy head. Alcoholic flavors over time.

Aroma: 6 out of 10

Visuals: 4 out of 5

Taste: 6 out of 10

Palate: 3 out of 5

Overall 12/20

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

What are you nuts? This is one of the best beers ever created. I sincerely urge you to throw this review out, buy yourself a pint at a “different” bar, and then reevaluate. This is my beer of choice when I actually find a bar that serves it, and trust me it can taste dramatically different from one place to the next.

Comment by Joe

I actually ordered this just the other day on tap at a Uno’s in Maryland. It wasn’t bad at all. Very enjoyable, if light, brown ale. It was missing, in my opinion, some of the more molasses and smoke flavors I expect in the style. I’m not a very good judge though, as when it comes to brown ales, generally, I prefer Belgians and IPAs. No, I’m not nuts.đŸ˜‰

Comment by lemasney

I love this beer i can drink 2 24 packs n the last1 tastes as good as the first 1 the 1 n only

Comment by Hejose lopez




Leave a Reply

