BeerCritic


Bear Republic Red Rocket Ale

Style and Glass: American Strong Ale, Trappist; Snifter
ABV, Volume & Calories: 6.8 % in 22 fl oz. estimated at 300 C
Purchased at: Canal’s Lawrenceville for $1.66 ($19.99 for a 12 bomber case on special)

Aroma: nice, cocoa, heather, hay, flowers, leaves, musty, musk, dark roast malts.

Visuals: exciting packaging, like a lighter flavored chocolate stout, brown to black, fully opaque, staying rocky tan head, sticky intricate lace.

Taste: chocolate malts, more towards malt than hops, focyus on aromatic hops, some bittering hops finish, delicious.

Palate: milky, peppery carbonation, wash, surf, medium finish.

Overall: Amazing for the special price. I’ll have it about 11 more times at least. I’d like to pair it with something like pizza, broccoli, garlic chicken, soy, beans, lots of possibilities there.


5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It looks a lot darker than I remember, it looks like mislabeled Big Bear Black Stout. I’m pretty sure Red Rocket is a reddish, amber ale with some clarity, I will grab a Red Rocket and double check. Even if it is mislabeled you are still in good shape.

Red Rocket is my 3rd favorite Bear Republic brew but they are my #1 all around brewery so even the 3rd best player on the top team is an all star in my book.

What a deal, that’s like the same price as Miller High Life. *jealous*

Comment by prfx

hey, prfx, could be, I guess. I’ve had both, and others in this batch have been redder, and much more translucent. Either way, I’m not complaining — a very good brew, no matter the name.😉 Yeah — the price could be a result of a labeling mishap, though I think they might have made a note of telling us. Price is phenom, mos def.

Comment by lemasney

[…] Backstory: My compadre at beercritic reviewed this one (here) after he scored a case of bombers for $20 in the craft beer deal of the month. However, I trust […]

Pingback by Red Rocket Ale by Bear Republic « Westside Ciceronito

I enjoyed a Red Rocket last night. Very hoppy, but good hoppy. I have had both Red Rocket & Racer 5 from Bear Republic. They seem to know what they aer doing.

Comment by Bob

Good hoppy is the standard for me.😉 Thanks for your comment!

Comment by lemasney




Leave a Reply

