BeerCritic


Brasserie Des Rocs Triple Imperiale

Style and Glass: Belgian Strong; trappist, tulip, tumbler
ABV, Volume & Calories: 10 % in 25.4 fl oz. estimated at 400C
Purchased at: Canal’s Burlington, NJ

Aroma: very nice, cherry, chocolate, wine, sediment, moss. 9 out of 10.

Visuals: Gusher (like all Brasserie Des Rocs). nice label design and packaging, brown, murky, chunky with sediment, thin brown head, sticky lace. 5 out of 5.

Taste: unbalanced, pure malt, syrupy, no hops, low strength, medium craft. 8 out of 10.

Palate: medium quality, smooth texture, short fruity finish. 4 out of 5.

Overall: Very much like iced tea. Alcohol is almost unnoticable, not a repeat, not a favorite, low value, medium craft. 16 out of 20.


10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

John, one night you and I need to taste beers together. I’ll bring 2, you bring 2.

Comment by Jim

Jim, that’s a deal. What is your favorite style?

Comment by lemasney

Hmm, tough question. I like most styles, except for some of the more pedestrian lagers. So, the field’s wide open.

Comment by Jim

I’m a hop head, Imperial lover, and Belgians rock me. Throw all that together, and you could say that I really enjoy styles like Chouffe Houblon Dobbelen IPA Tripel. What we ought to do is consider a co-op shopping trip to Super Saver at Pennington Circle, do some trades, then do some tasting. I have an idea for a tasting podcast, and maybe you’d be interested in co-hosting. I do most of my sampling at my computer, so I can get the photos, etc. so there are some questions about logistics, driving, etc., but I’m very interested. Let’s talk.

Comment by lemasney

That sounds quite fun. I’ve had that Chouffe and thought it would be nice to try some of the others. I don’t think I’d want to make an evening of exclusively Belgian, though, or at least exclusively abbey style, I like a bit of hops to round out the night. If my tongue isn’t coated with hop residue by the end, I feel like I’ve done something wrong.

Comment by Jim

You’re definitely my kind of guy. πŸ˜‰ Let’s agree to an imperial IPA tasting. You can’t go too far wrong there if you like hops. There are not many available in the area that I haven’t tried, but I’m willing to do some searching at Super Saver Pennington. I know there are a few at Canal’s in Lawrenceville I’ve eyed up a few times. You suggested a 2×2, and I’m suggesting either that or a bomber to share each. Either way, we both get about 24 ounces. πŸ˜‰

Comment by lemasney

That sounds reasonable from a variety of perspectives. Now we just need to figure out where and when. My house is possible, but it would have to be prior to Alex going to bed since noise travels terribly here.

Comment by Jim

There’s a few things going on right now, but I’d say after I get back from Orlando and Halloween has past, I’d love to make this happen. Let’s start with the trip to Super Saver and go from there. Sound good?

Comment by lemasney

Works for me, I really need to put the finishing touches on my dissertation, anyway. Let’s shoot for the beginning of November, then.

Comment by Jim

Perfect! I have a lit review to work on myself. πŸ˜‰

Comment by lemasney




Leave a Reply

