BeerCritic


Stone Arrogant Bastard Ale

RateBeer Rating, Style and Glass: 98, American Strong, Trappist
22 fl oz x 7.2% ABV = 158.4 / 60 = 2.64 beers * 150 C = 396 calories (est.)
Purchased at: Circle Liquors Super Saver, Pennington, NJ for $4.50

Aroma: mild, inviting, quiet, present, grains. 7 out of 10.

Visuals: attractive, deep red, brilliant, clear, off white, wispy head, nice lace. 5 out of 5.

Taste: hops, roasted grains, maple syrup, leaves, hay, dust, delicious, well balanced, well crafted. 10 out of 10.

Palate: leathery, coating, sponge, amazing, deep finish. 5 out of 5.

Overall: Reminds me of the Oaked Bastard, but I preferred this by a mile, and I liked that one a lot. I’d have it again, and I plan to. One of my go to beers from here on out, since I can get it almost anywhere. Well crafted – a very nice treat. 18 out of 20.


5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Easily one of the most menacing visual brews I’ve ever seen. That delicious shade of translucent ruby is mesmerizing.

Comment by lemasney

It pours a mahogany red color. Deep like good wood. Clear. Not as much head as I thought it should have and not much retention down to a thin cap and even that is disappearing. Smell is sweet carmel malt and hops bitterness. Because I wanted to try it so much I broke the cardinal rule and tasted before I was done smelling. Lacing nicely and up front is full hops bitterness. Pucker up the citrus is becoming more evident on the nose and in the finish. Nice long finish and medium carbonation and medium body. You would think to look at this beer that it would be heavy and it’s not light. BUT it’s fully loaded with hops and strong malt backbone realizing a rich deep flavor that is not complex but rather assertive and in your face arrogant. I love the tag line “you are not worthy.”

PS I’m a girl who likes beer. I like your site.

Comment by Maria

Hi, Maria! Thanks for the comment. I quit drinking back in April, but I’m glad that people still enjoy the site and share about their faves. Cheers!

Comment by lemasney

Gee I’m sorry to hear that. One of the things I really liked was the calorie count information.

Comment by Maria

I’m still into counting calories. You might want to check out my other blog at http://diaryofcalories.wordpress.com and thanks again for stopping by!

Comment by lemasney




Leave a Reply

