BeerCritic


Thirsty Dog Hoppus Maximus American Amber Ale

ABV: 5 %
RateBeer rating: 76
Calories: estimated at 150 C
Volume: 12 fl oz.
Glass: pint, shaker
Purchased at: Issac Newton’s, Newtown, PA
Price: $4.50
Consumed at: home

First Impression: An average IPA alike. Chemical flavors hurt the taste. Aroma is a spicy citrus. Visuals are a beautiful amber body below a bright white head with persistent lacing. Taste is hoppy, chemical, and a bit soapy. Palate is crisp, drying, and acetic with a long bitter finish. Second Impression – not a bad beer, except that it tastes unnatural – many better beers exist for this purpose (hop delivery).

Aroma: 7 out of 10

Visuals: 5 out of 5

Taste: 6 out of 10

Palate: 4 out of 5

Overall: 14 out of 20


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

what are your ratings on other thirsty dog beers?

Comment by streve

Hey, Streve, This was the only Thirsty Dog I’ve ever consumed, and I’m not hopping (get it?) at the chance to try another one. This is depspite the fact that I’m a hop head. Should I? Did I get it all wrong? I tend to feel that breweries consider quality across the board or not at all, and if I get burnt once or twice, I’m less likely to keep choosing them, since there are so many reliable great brews and breweries out there. I’m thinking Southern Tier, Victory, Stone, Rogue, Brooklyn, etc. However, with a recommendation or corection from people on my reviews, I’m always happy to try again, usually froma different source, since bad storage or age may be a factor. Cheers.

Comment by lemasney




Leave a Reply

