BeerCritic


Flying Dog Old Scratch Amber Lager

ABV: 5.5%
RateBeer rating: 43
Calories: estimated at 150 C
Volume: 12 fl oz
Glass: Lager Glass
Purchased at: Varsity Liquors, Princeton, NJ
Price: $1.33 as part of mixed pack sampler.
Consumed at: home

First Impression: Not your typical american lager. Delicious surprising hops depth, dark bitter finish, and very nice color.

Aroma is slightly flowery, hops and malt. Woody.

Visuals include a beautifully varied yellow, pale, amber body. Depth is variable, and visually stunning. Very clear and brilliant.

Taste is surprising; roasted toasted, nutty, smoky, wheat, corn, and malt. Clearly distinguishable from the average lager.

Palate is roof of mouth, crisp, dry, actively carbonated, with a long, dark, very nice bitter finish.

Second Impression. This is quite enjoyable, and I was taken by surprise, because I expected a much less enjoyable beer, not because of the brewery, but because of the style. Great work, as per the usual, Flying Dog.

Aroma: 8 out of 10

Visuals: 5 out of 5

Taste: 8 out of 10

Palate: 4 out of 5

Overall: 16 out of 20

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[...] Continue Reading [...]

Pingback by Flying Dog Old Scratch Amber Lager

I LOVE this beer! I only discovered it a couple of months ago, while visiting my brother, and I can only find it locally at a Total Wine and More store…and/but when I do get it, I get at least one case. Also have the t-shirt (bonus – Ralph Steadman crazy art on the bottle and merchandise), mug, and hoodie. I am a Flying Dog Old Scratch Amber Lager nerd! LOL but really, I love a good amber beer, and this is the best I have ever tasted…and I drink a lot of beer.

Comment by Billie

Thanks for stopping by, Billy. Love your page, too.

Comment by lemasney




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

