BeerCritic


Bar Harbor Blueberry Ale
05/12/2008, 4:20 AM
Filed under: Bar Harbor, Fruit beer (flute) | Tags: , , , , , ,

ABV: 5.5%
RateBeer rating: 55
Calories: estimated at 150C
Volume: 12 fl oz
Glass: flute
Purchased at: Trade with Sean P. (Thanks, Sean with apologies.)
Price: Oskar Blues Old Chub
Consumed at: home

First Impression: I should start by saying that I don’t like blueberries, but I love most other fruits and berries. I’m a big fan of Belgian styles, and lambics, just not of blueberries. Color is nice, but aroma is off. Reminded of the experiments of Smuttynose Hanami Ale. Aroma is blunt and chemical. Visuals are a beautiful tea body with no head whatsoever. Taste is, in a word, bad. This is hard to finish, much less enjoy. Palate is crisp, dry and short lasting finish, thankfully. Overcarbonated. Second Impression: Very glad I did not buy this, but I’m pretty sure Sean was just clearing out his fridge with this one. It’s pretty, but there are much prettier beers that are simply fantastic to taste.

Aroma: 4 out of 10

Visuals: 4 out of 5

Taste: 3 out of 10

Palate: 3 out of 5

Overall: 12 out of 20

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You caught me read handed on this one, I WAS cleaning out my fridge. I’d like to point out that I never tried this beer because I too hate blueberrys. I however did not expect you to find it as terrible as you did. 2 more to go in your 4 pack! Looking forward to the rest!!!!

Comment by Sean Piotrowski

I’m wondering, since you hate blueberries, why you would pick up a blueberry ale in the first place? ;) The Harpoon UnFiltered Offering (UFO) and the Thomas Hardy’s Ale is still in the lineup. I’m definitely going to hide the Hardy’s away for a few years to age, but the UFO almost met its fate this weekend. I’ve had Harpoon’s IPA (shared a 6 with Sukhi) and was not very impressed, but I like Witbeer and Hefeweizen, so there’s a shot there for the UFO.

Comment by lemasney




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

