BeerCritic


Lagunitas Hop Stoopid DIPA

Lagunitas Hop Stoopid DIPA

Lagunitas Hop Stoopid DIPA

Style; glass: DIPA; Tulip
22 fl oz x 8% ABV = 176 / 60 = 2.93 beers * 150 C = 439.5 calories (est.)
Purchased at: Super Saver Pennington, NJ for $4.49

Aroma: hay, orange peel, pineapple, pine trees, salt.

Visuals: intriguing packaging, looks like top shelf whiskey, deep amber, brilliantly clear, off white head, intricate thin lace.

Taste: well balanced, light sweetness throughout, citrus rind tones continuously present, strength balanced with sensibility.

Palate: dry, towel, long bitter finish with sweetness lying underneath.

Overall: A very well balanced DIPA. A definite repeat. A sure favorite. At $5 a bomber, an amazing value.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey John. I see you have a new look over here. Has to be fairly recent as I come regularly. First, I want to let you know about another awesome hoppy beer, The Maharaja Imperial India Pale Ale, not sure if you’ve tried it. http://www.dailybeerreview.com/2009/06/maharaja-imperial-india-pale-ale.html

Second, I sent someone your way a few days ago, as he was interested in the caloric content of beer, while I just prefer to drink and not count them.

Talk to you soon.

Comment by Beer Drinker

This one is a fave of mine and it is really cool that the price stayed reasonable while most DIPA prices skyrocketed.
For me, most Lagunitas disappoint (esp their IPA) but this offering always satisfies and delights me.
I am doing a short run of reviews so let me know if you have any recommenations. I really wanted to try hop wallop based on your review but have not been able to find it. Anything else I should look out for?
Anyways, hope you are well. Stay cool this summer.

Comment by prfx

[...] and fresh hops.  The bitterness is not biting, rather just present.  This is a beer for the hopheads in the audience.  People love this beer.  It scored an A- on Beer Advocate and a 99 on Rate Beer.  Daily Beer [...]

Pingback by Hop Stoopid Ale | Beer-Geek, Dude. A beer blog featuring a different beer everyday, beer research and beer news.

I’ve not been a big fan of very hoppy beers but I always keep trying things because I know I’ll eventually find something I fall in love with. And this beer did it for me; it’s just a truly unique flavor, and I haven’t found another hoppy beer like it. I stock this stuff up now, it will be a life long favorite for me.

Comment by Scotty

Glad you liked it, Scotty. I was a bit of a hophead when I was drinking regularly, but this one was always a low cost pleaser for me.

Comment by lemasney




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

