BeerCritic


Brooklyn Local 2 Belgian Strong Ale
brooklyn local 2 belgian strong ale

brooklyn local 2 belgian strong ale

Style; glass:Belgian Strong; trappist
25.4 fl oz x 9% ABV = 228.6 / 60 = 3.81 beers * 150 C = 571.5 calories (est.)
Purchased at: Canal’s Lawrenceville, NJ for $ (have to check)

Aroma: cloves, banana, peach, fruit. A wonderful version of the style, aroma fills the room.

Visuals: Meticulous packaging, beautiful and royal, thinner translucent head, hazy ruby body, gossamer lacing.

Taste: Begins bubbly, sweet, and washy, middles to a fruity candy, finishes dark with some bitterness. Delicious.

Palate: Heavily carbonated, very fresh, middle dulls and flavors emerge, finish is long lasting, sweetness, roastiness converging.

Overall: As most of my purchases from Garrett O., this is a quality brew, worth the price, with exquisite care, packaging, and attention to detail. Superb.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Man I’m keen to get a hold of this beer. Great review, and as always enticing shots!

I tried to find it when I was in DFW last week, but it hadn’t hit the shelves here yet. Have you tried the #1?

Comment by musingmonkey

Everyone should, esp if you like sweeter Belgian styles. My local bottleshop has a good relationship with Brooklyn. I also got the Black Ops here. Yes, I did try the Local 1, and it’s also currently available locally. Here’s my review of 1: http://beercritic.wordpress.com/2008/05/22/brooklyn-local-1/ Cheers, and hope you get a hold of it!

Comment by lemasney

I can’t wait to get my hands on the Local 2. Just tried the Black Ops the other day and relished that, too. :)

Comment by The Beer Babe

Hey, Beer Babe! The Black Ops was a masterpiece, in my opinion. The Local 2 would probably benefit from some age, though as you can see from my reviw, I enjoyed it quite a bit. I envy people who can actually see their beer and resist tasting it for years. Cheers!

Comment by lemasney

Great review! Garrett rarely disappoints, and I was lucky enough to grab a bottle of this last weekend (along with a Local 1). Though I prefered the 1 a bit over the 2, there is no question both are elegantly brewed beers.

Comment by jjchristie

Thanks @Joshua, I agree, Garrett knows his task well. I had the Local 1 a while back, but I wasn’t disappointed in either case. Elegance is a great way to describe the passion and dedication shown in these brews. Try the Black Ops if you can find it. Amazing.

Comment by lemasney

[...] Beer Critic says it “begins bubbly, sweet, and washy, middles to a fruity candy, finishes dark with some bitterness.” [...]

Pingback by Brooklyn Local #2




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

