BeerCritic


Lost Abbey Red Barn Saison
Lost Abbey Red Barn Ale

Lost Abbey Red Barn Ale

Style and Glass: Saison; tulip
ABV, Volume & Calories: 6.7 % in 25.4 fl oz. estimated at 300 C
Purchased at: Newportville Inn, Bristol, PA for $8.50

Aroma: peaches, fruit, hayfield, dirt, dust. Inviting, flowery aroma.

Visuals: Beautiful packaging, though I feel similarly about religious iconography on my beer as I do about fish. I’d rather not see it right there, in particular. Hazy golden sunset, with a bright white cloud of a head. Lace is intricate.

Taste: A very nicely done saison — tea, some spice, cloves, but what really sets this apart is the rather hoppy finish and depth. Some corn and wheat, but heavier than most of the saisons I’ve tried, which is a good thing as far as I’m concerned.

Palate: Beginning is sweet and malty, middle is darker, and dries quickly, with a slightly bitter finish that lasts for about half a minute. A very nice example.

Overall: This was my first ever Lost Abbey brew, but it certainly won’t be my last. If they can make a very enjoyable saison, I believe they can do just about anything.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

