BeerCritic


Southern Tier Choklat

Style and Glass:  Imperial Stout, Snifter
ABV, Volume & Calories: 11% in 22 fl oz. estimated at 400 C
Purchased at: Canal’s Burlington for $8.99

Aroma: So nice, cocoa, chocolate, milk chocolate, sourness, cream, caramel, alcohol.

Visuals: beautiful packaging, as usual, utter darkness, like a night in the deep woods, black, opaque, nice tan head, strong lace.

Taste: Well balanced, syrupy chocolate, tight bitter finish, warming, strong, delicious.

Palate: High quality, smooth texture, warm, bitter finish.

Overall: dessert in a bottle. I’d have it again in a heartbeat. Likely my favorite chocolate imperial stout. It turns it to 11. Nicely done once again by Southern Tier.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

A friend of mine just exposed me to this beer at an AFC Championship football party (GO STEELERS!!!). It’s frickin’ awesome!!! It’s like crack in beer form. In fact, I half-jokingly told them I was going to blame them at my first AA lead for starting me on my long-slow-slide into choklat-beer-induced alcoholism. Just unbelievably delicious stuff . . . .

Comment by Jon Hallstein

I’m with you, Jon. Choklat is a beast, and it takes over your soul. In this case, I’m okay with my new hoppy overlord. ;)

Comment by lemasney

If you like hersheys syrup from the bottle this beer is for you. Wheres the hops and the malts? YUCK! I love stouts this is not a stout just chocolate in a bottle…

Comment by ME




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

