BeerCritic


Samuel Smith Oatmeal Stout

Samuel Smith Oatmeal StoutABV: 5 %
Calories: estimated at 150 C
Volume: 12 fl oz bottle
Glass: concave shaker
Purchased at: Circle Liquors Super Saver, Pennington, NJ
Price: $2.75
Consumed at: home

Impression: A rich, deep dark body with a thick tan head. Impressive for such a widely available beer. Almost impenetrable but has a deep ruby core in bright light. Deep, rich, and full flavor with good long aftertaste. Chocolate, roasted coffee, raisin, plum, and orange peel are evident. A very good example of a well crafted mass produced beer. Good finish and aftertaste. Enjoyable, drinkable, and with depth of flavor throughout.

Samuel Smith Oatmeal StoutAroma: 8 out of 10

Visuals: 4 out of 5

Taste: 9 out of 10

Palate: 5 out of 5

Overall: 17 out of 20

.

.

.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

sam smith oatmeal stout… great beer, did not disappoint

Comment by thomas

I usually can’t stand beer in general, but I was served this at Dublin Pub in Dayton when I was there to play some music. I had asked for something else that I knew was not heavy on the carbs. I have only ever remotely liked dark beers, the darker the better. I can tell you nothing about the body or intricacies of a beer whether it’s good or bad or whatever. All I can tell you is that this is now what I order if I’m out to play. I really enjoyed it and was immensely and pleasantly surprised at just how much I liked it. (because it was a beer which I had only asked for specifically because I was looking for something with a lot less sugar than the alky-pop I had been drinking previously.

The bottom line? I don’t think you need to be a connoisseur to enjoy this beer. An added benefit is that barkeeps don’t look at me like I’m stupid or crazy when I ask for it. Nothing worse than barkeeps with little thought bubbles over their heads with the letters “WTF” in them. haha. (better when the bubble says “good choice”.

Comment by Ishte




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

